USDA 1890 National Scholars Program

The USDA Office of Advocacy & Outreach (OAO) recently released its USDA 1890 National Scholars Program. The National Scholars Program is a major effort of the USDA and nineteen 1890 Historically Black Land-Grant Institutions (HBCUs) to award scholarships to students to attend one of the nineteen 1890 Institutions in any field of study in agriculture, food, natural resource sciences or other related disciplines. The USDA/1890 National Scholars Program will provide full tuition, employment, employment benefits, fees, books, and room and board each year for up to four years to selected students pursuing a bachelor’s degree at the following universities:

•         Alabama A&M University
•         Alcorn State University
•         Central State University, Ohio
•         Delaware State University
•         Florida A&M University
•         Fort Valley State University, Georgia
•         Kentucky State University
•         Langston University, Oklahoma
•         Lincoln University, Missouri
•         North Carolina A&T State University
•         Prairie View A&M University, Texas
•         South Carolina State University
•         Southern University, Louisiana
•         Tennessee State University
•         Tuskegee University, Alabama
•         University of Arkansas Pine Bluff
•         University of Maryland Eastern Shore
•         Virginia State University
•         West Virginia State University

Eligible students must be U.S. citizens, have a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or better, have been accepted at one of the 1890 HBCUs, study agriculture, food, natural resource sciences or other related academic disciplines, demonstrate leadership and community service, etc. Please visit the USDA 1890 National Scholars Program website for more information. The scholarship may be renewed each year contingent upon satisfactory academic performance and normal progress toward the bachelor’s degree. 

High school applications and college applications may be downloaded from this website:  Application and supporting documentation DEADLINE is February 1, 2015. For more information please contact:

Ed L. Thompson, Jr.
USDA 1890 Program Liaison
Office of Advocacy and Outreach
Kentucky State University
Cooperative Extension Facility
400 East Main St. Rm. 221
Frankfort, KY 40601
Phone (502) 597-6955
Fax (502) 597-5933